Lizzybee1002’s Weblog

These aren’t the droids you’re looking for… – Old Ben Kenobi

  • LIS768 de.icio.us

It is a Small World in the IM World

Posted by lizzybee1002 on October 16, 2007

To be honest, I have been putting this assignment off for a long time because I have a strange schedule and have always been too early or too late for the hours that the libraries seem to have for the chat sessions. I did go to the great IM wiki that was provided and started going down the list, most of the international services were down so I went to the Montana Ask a Librarian link and they use QuestionPoint as their Chat Service.

I was hoping to get someone from the Montana Public Library System but instead I got Saima from the Houston Public Library System and the conversation is listed below. I asked general questions, how long they have had the service if she liked using chat, did the patrons like it, the usual questions.

The most amazing part was that she not only knew people from Dominican but she worked at the DePaul University Lincoln Park Library and that is where I completed my undergrad. We were both amazed that we managed to connect with each other and it really showed what a small world this place really is.

I had a great experience and Saima was so nice that I hope if I ever have any questions she can help me out again.

Leave a Reply

 
