Lizzybee1002’s Weblog

These aren’t the droids you’re looking for… – Old Ben Kenobi

  • LIS768 de.icio.us

Virtual Communities: Good, Bad and the Ugly

Posted by lizzybee1002 on September 25, 2007

I am a lurker, I admit that I normally lurk and read for weeks or sometimes months on end before I join a community online and then I normally post comments and ideas seldom.

I can use the excuse that I’m too busy to really be active or it can really go back to the first time that I ever posted on a virtual community site (I will not post the name out of principle) but I will say it is dedicated to television and it is very popular. I was young, probably 17 and wanted to join the online world quickly since I loved TV and the shows that I wanted to comment on. So I did and felt nervous and proud all at the same time. Within 5 hours my post was under fire and I was kicked off the board for posting incorrectly (whatever the heck that meant: grammar, punctuation, blah, blah, blah, they never seemed to mention).

End my online posting career, in only a matter of hours! I thought I would never post again until I found some great small sites (years later of course) that weren’t so rigid with their posting “rules” and was a site of dedicated fans that may take their show and hobbies and interests but posting and joining was fun again. I wanted to be come active and post my thoughts and findings. I am so glad I was able to find a site (sites) that makes me feel like I belong.

Leave a Reply

 
