Lizzybee1002’s Weblog

These aren’t the droids you’re looking for… – Old Ben Kenobi

  • LIS768 de.icio.us

It’s the End of the World

Posted by lizzybee1002 on September 19, 2007

When reading the Brown and Duguid article, who knew that with all of the technology out there we were at the end of the world. (Insert hysterical scream here). Have no fear though the “end” as Brown and Duguid is the end politics…and universities, cities, religions, television and mass media, along with a slew of other institutions that we need. Or do we really need them?

Do we really need to go into a classroom when we can easily be taught online and through applications like Second Life? Do we really need to watch the presidential debate on TV when youtube can air just the important parts”?

Is it really the end to all of the things we know and are familiar with or is the information age just enhancing our world. We are being connected to the world without ever leaving out homes and making friends virtually through the internet and social networking sites. But will there ever come a time where we will see the end to government, or cities because it will be online and there is no need to see anyone ever again.

I am going to go out on a limb and say no, the internet and the information age and all of the advancements really are just to enhance our world and not take it over. At least I hope not because I think robots shouldn’t be in charge. 😉

5 Responses to “It’s the End of the World”

  1. ruth said

    I’ve taken a couple of online classes and, even though I can “attend” class on my schedule and even in my pajamas from wherever I happen to be, nothing replaces the classroom experience. As immediate as our Web technologies may be (think IM, chat, virtual learning communities), I find that there’s more “immediacy” in a classroom discussion or lecture presentation that allows us to see each others’ eyes, faces, and gestures as part of the exchange.

    I enrolled in one of the first online classes offered at Dominican. The assignments were very well suited to an online environment. However, the “discussions” were a disappointment in the BlackBoard environment.

  2. ruth said

    I’ve taken a couple of online classes and, even though I can “attend” class on my schedule and in my pajamas from wherever I happen to be, nothing replaces the classroom experience. As immediate as our Web technologies may be (think IM, chat, virtual learning communities), I find that there’s more “immediacy” in a classroom discussion or lecture presentation that allows us to see each others’ eyes, faces, and gestures as part of the exchange.

    I enrolled in one of the first online classes offered at Dominican. The assignments were very well suited to an online environment. However, the “discussions” were a disappointment in the BlackBoard environment.

  3. ruth said

    oops. i’m speaking double!

  4. lizzybee1002 said

    I agree with the blackboard experience, there has to be a better way to be online and learn. I like the format with this class because I feel that blogging will be more immediate than blackboard. Plus blogging is easier to use than blackboard, I don’t know how many times I would upload but not send my homework assignments! 🙂

  5. Maximus said

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic

Leave a Reply

 
